EtherCAT Slave PC LabVIEW

The combination of PLC and PC with LabVIEW application is a common setup in testing technology. PCs with industrial image processing or advanced measurement hardware and complex evaluation are integrated as modules into PLC control systems.


With the solution "EtherCAT Slave PC LabVIEW", it is now possible to use a PC with LabVIEW application as EtherCAT slave in a PLC controlled system. The PC uses hereby a PCI EtherCAT slave card from Beckhoff to fulfill the requirements of the EtherCAT bus. On the LabVIEW side an API is provided to generate data objects for cyclic and acyclic data exchange and to access these. By File over EtherCAT it is simple to transfer files like measurement data, images, reports and alike.


When using TwinCAT as PLC, there is a big advantage over communication using ADS. If ADS is opened for data exchange between TwinCAT and LabVIEW, all variables and address space is opened for read and write to LabVIEW. This can be quite a risk. With the EtherCAT slave solution TwinCAT controls the data exchange and the LabVIEW application behaves as slave.


Currently only support for LabVIEW 32 bit on Win 32 and 64 bit systems




The following functionality is included:

  • Read and write cyclic process data
  • Read and write CoE objects
  • Transfer of files by File over EtherCAT (FoE)
  • Creation of data objects in the object dictionary
  • Configuration of the process data interface
  • LabVIEW Events for new process data and changes of CoE object data


Download Library Documentation



Tutorial Videos

   Online Presentation



Buy in the online store or use the contact form to request our price list.




We offer discounts for universities and schools.





                            ( )

News

LabVIEW driver libraries for Beckhoff EtherCAT terminals.

 

Use the modular Beckhoff measurement and automation system with LabVIEW.

more...

NI Tools Network


Approved for NI Tools Network

Ackermann Automation GmbH   |   Kelsterbacher Strasse 15-19   |   60528 Frankfurt am Main   |   Tel.: +49(0)69-40562742   |   Fax: +49(0)69-40562816

EtherCAT Slave PC LabVIEW

Die Kombination von SPS und PC mit LabVIEW Applikation ist gerade in der Prüftechnik ein häufiger Anwendungsfall. PCs mit industrieller Bildverarbeitung oder komplexer Messtechnik mit aufwändiger Verarbeitung integrieren sich in ein SPS-gesteuertes Gesamtsystem.


Mit der Lösung "EtherCAT Slave PC LabVIEW" ist es möglich, einen PC mit LabVIEW Applikation als EtherCAT Slave in ein solches System zu integrieren. Der PC nutzt hierbei eine PCI EtherCAT Slave Karte von Beckhoff, um die Anforderungen an die Busanbindung zu erfüllen. Auf der LabVIEW Seite wird eine API bereitgestellt, um Datenobjekte für den zyklischen und azyklischen Datenaustausch zu generieren und auf diese zugreifen zu können. Per File over EtherCAT können einfach Dateien wie Messdaten, Reports, Bilder und ähnliches übertragen werden.


Bei Verwendung von TwinCAT Steuerungen gibt es einen großen Vorteil gegenüber der Anbindung per ADS. Wird ein Datenaustausch per ADS freigegeben, so sind alle Variablen und Adressbereiche in der Steuerung für den Schreib- und Lesezugriff von LabVIEW aus freigegeben. Dies kann erhebliche Risiken beinhalten. Mit der EtherCAT Slave Lösung steuert TwinCAT den Datenzugriff und die LabVIEW Applikation fungiert als Slave.


Aktuell nur Unterstützung von LabVIEW 32 Bit auf Windows 32 und 64 Bit Systemen




Der Funktionsumfang beinhaltet:

  • Lesen und Schreiben zyklischer Prozessdaten
  • Lesen und Schreiben von CoE Objekten
  • Übertragen von Dateien mit File over EtherCAT (FoE)
  • Erzeugung beliebiger Datenobjekte im Object Dictionary
  • Erzeugung des Prozessdateninterfaces
  • LabVIEW Events für neue Prozessdaten sowie Änderungen an CoE Objekten


Download Library Dokumentation



Tutorial Videos

   Online Präsentation



Der Kauf kann online durchgeführt werden oder nutzen Sie das Kontaktformular, um unsere Preisliste anzufordern.




Wir bieten Rabatte für Universitäten und Schulen



                            ( )

News

Labview Treiber für Beckhoff EtherCAT Busklemmen.

 

LabVIEW Treiberbibliotheken zur Einbindung des modularen Busklemmensystems von Beckhoff.

mehr...

NI Tools Network


Approved for NI Tools Network

Ackermann Automation GmbH   |   Kelsterbacher Strasse 15-19   |   60528 Frankfurt am Main   |   Tel.: +49(0)69-40562742   |   Fax: +49(0)69-40562816